Self-abnegation

I keep hearing it at the playground:

“Argh, I packed a snack for the kids but forgot to pack one for myself.”

“What am I doing this weekend? Well, we’ve got two birthday parties, a soccer game, and a T-ball game. Oh, and swimming lessons.”

“Sorry, I remember your kids’ names, but not yours.”

At its best, parenting involves a nearly-sacred level of generosity. At its worst, it involves a dangerous self-erasure. I would like to figure out how to keep it on that good side without slipping into the self-abnegation that our culture seems to impose on moms.

In pop-culture, moms are generally absent, dead, or impossibly saintly. I’m just trying to be human.

 

 

 

One response to “Self-abnegation

  1. e961

    Thank you for this entry. There were many times with young children that I believed I was becoming a non-person, a tired non-person. I’ve believed this was just me. Now I don’t, but neither do I know a remedy. You have some strategies and are stronger than I was. Continue.

    On Thu, Jul 4, 2013 at 12:48 AM, Elaines blog

Leave a Reply

