Parenting Dilemna #6428

When I picked up Soph from school, she looked tired. It was a hot day, her class had just returned from a forest-hiking field trip, and so I didn’t think much of it. We biked home and I started to make her a smoothie, while she wandered back to her bedroom. When I called her, she didn’t answer. It turned out she had just climbed into bed and fallen asleep.

She felt a little feverish. She was deep asleep.

She wasn’t even sleeping in her own bed, because I happened to be washing her sheets. She had climbed into my bed, instead. Sweet independent girl.

Here’s the parenting dilemna: I have to pick up Everett from daycare 45 minutes after I pick up Sophie from school. I didn’t want to wake her up and drag her to Evs’s daycare. And I didn’t want to leave her home alone.

What would you do?

Parenting solution #1: I called a neighbor.

My elderly, retired neighbor said he’d be right over. He brought his harmonica, so he could play songs to Soph if she woke up. He sat on my couch and read the nearest book, a story for 4-year-olds, while I biked to pick up Everett. When I returned, a half-hour later, my neighbor told me he was “just going down memory lane,” since his house used to look like mine, 47 years ago, before he’d renovated his.

And he said, “I don’t know how to say this, but, thank you. It feels good to be needed.”

 

 

 

2 responses to “Parenting Dilemna #6428

  1. Alicja Ellis

    What a sweet story. Made me smile and shed a tear at the same time đŸ™‚

  2. amy

    i loved this entry too. made me smile. love that you are living “it takes a village”. we are sometimes so intent on doing it all ourselves that it’s easy to forget that asking others can have the benefit of making them feel good too.

Leave a Reply

