Something to compare

What Ben did this weekend:
P1010641
Canyoneering in the Italian Alps. In case you don’t know what “canyoneering” is, it’s basically following a drop of water through some remote, nearly inaccessible area. Canyoneering usually involves using ropes to rappell down waterfalls, seeing sights that only a few hundred people have ever seen, and terrifying me.

What I did this weekend:

  • Spent 80 minutes soothing Sophie to sleep. At each nap-time.
  • Watched “Elmo’s Potty Time” twice a day, every day. And actually found it funny — that may be the surest sign that I need more adult companionship. But this particular episode of Sesame Street is brought to you by the letter P and the number 2. Really.
  • Circled the beach three times, seeking parking.
  • Watched my good friend almost crying in frustration at her own daughter’s terrible twos, and felt impotent.
  • Watched Sophie share her bike-trailer with another friend (“the bike couch!”), grinning and reading to each other from the little books I keep in the bike-trailer. This was so cute, it almost mitigates the mundanity of the rest of this list.

Ben says that when he returns, he’ll have to watch Sophie a bit so that I can go out for some grappa. He’s right. But it is almost four months of Sophie-watching that he owes me, now, much more than the bit of one grappa-outing.

I don’t actually want any grappa or even canyoneering. I would like, though, to be able to go swimming in the ocean that is a mile from my house. Just for fifteen minutes; maybe even ten — but I find it physically impossible to keep a toddler safe at the beach AND go swimming myself.  I keep telling myself there’s only one more month of single-parenting left, only one more month.

One response to “Something to compare

  1. celochick

    Somehow, it doesn’t quite equate, does it…our time and their time? Dave rode around Lake Tahoe while I watched the girls (oh, I did get in a short ride though) . Dave did 90 miles while I watched the girls but we got to swim in Grammy & Poppy’s pool.

    O starts school this week. I think maybe Fridays will be a good day (afternoons from 11:30-3:00) to get together with the Sofaloafs!

    Take care and hang in there!

Leave a Reply

