Inauguration

What a speech! Yo Yo Ma, Aretha Franklin, and a speech I can believe in. Ahhh. I’m going to work harder on teaching Sophie Jupiter to say “O-ba-ma.” She can say it, but only when I encourage her to – and of course she has no idea what it means, except that it rhymes pleasantly with “Mama” and “Llama.” Maybe what I’ll really work on is teaching her how to say, “Yes we can.”

At twenty months old, all she understands about this morning is that she desperately wanted chocolate ice-cream for breakfast and I wouldn’t let her have any. Maybe that’s somehow symbolic of the inauguration, but I hope not.

Leave a Reply

