Why?

“Why is your baby sucking on your boobie?” asked the four-year-old at the picnic table next to ours.

“Because she’s eating,” I told her, “That’s how some babies eat.”

The four-year-old screwed up her face at me, trying to gauge whether I was joking or whether I was really crazy enough to believe that my baby somehow cannibalizes my body. I just pulled the cloth of Sophie’s sling further over us, trying to go on breastfeeding calmly and discreetly. But then the four-year-old asked the obvious next question: “If she’s eating, then why are you hiding it?”

Leave a Reply

